Sunday, 28 May 2017

Housing Heroes shortlist announced

The shortlist has been announced for the Housing Heroes awards, which recognise the unsung heroes of the social housing sector.

Nearly ninety individuals and organisations will vie for the awards across 15 categories, with the winners named at a ceremony in London on 20 May.

The awards are organised by Inside Housing and the Chartered Institute of Housing.

This year they will be presented by the BBC news presenter George Alagiah. Last year the awards attracted more than 800 people, and the organisers expect the 2011 awards to be just as well attended.

See here for a full list of categories and finalists, and more information about the awards

Categories and finalists

Financial or Procurement Team of the Year

  • City West Housing Trust - Finance Team
  • Leeds Housing -PFI Project Team
  • New Charter Housing Trust Group - Revenues Team
  • Procurement for Housing - Materials Agreement
  • Selwood Housing Society - Procurement Team
  • South Tyneside Homes - Corporate Procurement Team

Development Team of the Year

  • Brent Housing Partnership - Major Work’s Team
  • Bromford Group
  • East Thames Group
  • Orbit Group
  • South Tyneside Homes
  • Two Rivers Housing

Maintenance Team of the Year

  • City West Housing Trust
  • Dumfries & Galloway Housing Partnership
  • Housing Solutions
  • One Vision Housing
  • Plus Dane Group
  • South Tyneside Homes

HR Team of the Year

  • Golden Gates Housing Trust
  • Luminus Group
  • Metropolitan Housing Partnership
  • Parkway Green Housing Trust - Get into Housing Project
  • Shepherds Bush Housing Group

IT Team of the Year

  • Kingstown Works
  • Monmouthshire Housing
  • Origin Housing
  • Solihull Community Housing
  • Trident
  • Wirral Partnership Homes

Frontline Housing Team of the Year

  • Amber Valley Housing - Homeless Team
  • L&Q Housing Trust - Hit Squad
  • One Vision Housing - Anti-social Behaviour Team
  • Poole Housing Partnership - Income Team
  • South Liverpool Housing - Community Safety Team
  • Soha Housing - Customer Service Team
  • The Cyrenians - Virginia House Staff Team

Tenant Empowerment Team of the Year

  • Glasgow Housing Association - Customer Engagement Team
  • Hanover - Resident Engagement Team
  • Hastoe Housing Association - Housing Management Team
  • Homes for Haringey - Resident Involvement Team
  • Housing 21 - Get Digital
  • The Wrekin Housing Trust - Resident Involvement Team

Ground Breaking Service Team of the Year

  • Calico - Skills and Enterprise Team
  • Community Spirit - Homework Hub Team
  • East Thames Group - Starting Point Team
  • Helena Homes - Developing Active Neighbourhoods Team
  • Northern Ireland Housing Executive - Shared Neighbourhood Programme Team
  • St Mungo’s - Peer Advice Link

Support/Care Team of the Year

  • Affinity Sutton - Improving Futures Team
  • Broadway - Old Theatre Team
  • City West Housing Trust - Incident Management Team
  • Melin Homes - Community Safety Team
  • Stockport Homes - Rehousing Services Team
  • Willow Park Housing Trust - The Sanctuary Scheme

Inspirational Leader of the Year

  • Jo Bennett - Portsmouth City Council
  • Jenny Birch - Orbit Group
  • Julie Fadden - South Liverpool Housing
  • Ashley Green - Gloucester City Homes
  • Debbie Low - Stonham
  • David Truesdale - Catalyst Housing Group

Inspirational Mentor of the Year

  • Julian Allen - Greenfields Community Housing
  • Joe Cummings - South Liverpool Housing
  • John Gibson - Twin Valley Homes
  • Mary Keane - Homes for Haringey
  • Chris Shoubridge - Catalyst Housing Group
  • Dawn Simcock - St Vincent’s Housing Association

Inspirational Colleague of the Year

  • Tony Egginton - Wales & West Housing Association
  • Ray Heeks - Twin Valley Homes
  • Louise Helm - Great Places Housing Group
  • Leanne Oldham - City West Housing Trust
  • Jennette Skinner - Shepherds Bush Housing Group
  • Donna Waddington - Trent & Dove Housing

Career Development Star of the Year

  • Steve Charles - Wolverhampton Homes
  • Victoria Dawson - New Charter Housing Trust Group
  • Denise Hill - Hackney Homes
  • Amy Lawson - Affinity Sutton
  • Judith Moores - Watford Community Housing Trust
  • Charlie Teare - Synergy Housing

Inspirational Board or Cabinet Member of the Year

  • Fiona Brown - Trent & Dove Housing
  • Russell Caller - Ealing Homes
  • Karin Jaeger - Brent Housing Partnership
  • Frank Protheroe - St Leger Homes
  • Sue Roberts MBE - Wolverhampton Homes
  • Rupert Tyson - Hackney Homes

Inspirational Tenant/Resident of the Year

  • Kevin George - Medway Cyrenians
  • Derekston James - Homes for Haringey
  • Alison Jurd - Southampton City Council
  • Tracie Moors - Stockport Homes
  • Ian Thomson - St Vincent’s Housing Association
  • Jim Wilson - Northern Ireland Housing Executive

Readers' comments (4)

Comments are only open to subscribers of Inside Housing

Already a subscriber?

If you’re already a subscriber to Inside Housing, your subscription may not be linked to your online account. You can link your subscription from within the My Account section of the website and clicking on Link My Account.

Not yet a subscriber?

If you don't yet subscribe to Inside Housing, please visit our subscription page to view our various subscription packages.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

sign in register


Newsletter Sign-up



  • Interim Housing Ombudsman announced

    5 May 2017

    An interim Housing Ombudsman has been recruited to replace Denise Fowler.

  • UK Housing Awards winners announced

    26 April 2017

    Social landlords celebrated their achievements on Wednesday night at the annual UK Housing Awards, organised by Inside Housing and the Chartered Institute of Housing.

  • Housing Heroes 2016


    The Housing Heroes Awards puts the spotlight on the UK’s most inspirational housing professionals and tenants. Michael Atherton introduces us to this year’s winners

  • Shortlist for £2bn regen scheme announced

    6 July 2016

    A joint bid by two housing associations and a contractor has made the final shortlist for a massive £2bn regeneration programme in north London.

  • Housing heroes awards announced

    28 June 2016

    Frontline housing workers were celebrated last night as the winners of the 2016 Housing Heroes awards were announced at a ceremony in Manchester.

IH Subscription