Sunday, 30 April 2017

Housing Heroes Awards

Organised by
Inside Housing

Inside Housing

Housing Heroes

and the
Chartered Institute of Housing


Housing Heroes
14 MAY 2010
Sustainable Housing Awards
Video Highlights 2010 >>
EMA Consultancy The Hire Standard

Asset Skills Campbell Tickell Insight HR

The housing sector is characterised by the commitment, passion and flair of the people who work in it. They are dedicated, innovative and creative individuals and teams.

This awards scheme aims to ensure those 'unsung heroes' of the housing world are recognised and rewarded for their contribution in making housing such a vibrant and caring sector.

The 2010 awards were presented by Ben Fogle at a lunchtime awards ceremony in London’s Hilton Hotel. The 2010 event was attended by almost 800 industry figureheads – including representatives of the main trade and professional bodies, Government ministers and leading experts from across the housing sector.

For the 2010 awards there were 14 trophies up for grabs, recognising everyone from the best HR, Maintenance and Finance/Procurement team to the inspirational board member and tenant.

Download the article as a PDF

2010 Finalists & winners

Financial or procurement team of the year

Wolverhampton Homes – Grounds Maintenance Service
Advantage SW – Procurement Consortium
Birmingham City Council – Rent Team
Generate Procurement Group
Nottingham City Homes – Procurement Service
The Guinness Partnership – Centre of Procurement Excellence (CoPE)

Development team of the year

Derbyshire Dales District Council
Birmingham City Council – Housing & Regeneration Service
Erimus Housing
Gentoo Homes
Hastoe Housing Association
Plus Dane Group

Maintenance team of the year

The Wrekin Housing Trust – Managed Services Team
Bromford Group – Repairs Team
Housing Plus: Property Care
Kingstown Works Limited
London & Quadrant Housing Trust – Stock Transfer Team
New Charter Housing Trust Group – Responsive Maintenance Team

HR team of the year
Sponsored by Tribal

Shepherds Bush Housing Group
First Choice Homes Oldham
Monmouthshire Housing Association
South Tyneside Homes
Thames Valley Housing

IT team of the year


The Cadarn Housing Group
Accord Group
Fabrick Housing Group
First Wessex
Kingstown Works Limited
South Liverpool Housing

Frontline housing team of the yearSponsored by Hire Standard

Liverpool Mutual Homes (LMH) – Intensive Community Payback Team
Brent Housing Partnership – Neighbourhood Warden Service
Gloucester City Homes – Customer Services Team
RCT Homes – Community Safety Team
Riverside – Kensington Community Wardens
West Lothian Council – The Repairs Improvement Team

Tenant empowerment team of the yearSponsored by United House

Poplar HARCA – Resident Empowerment Support Team (REST)
Aldwyck Housing Group – Community Involvement Team
Hackney Homes – Resident Participation Team
High Peak Community Housing – The Xpress Yourself Tour ‘09
Newydd Housing Association – Tenant Powered Performance Team
Sentinel Housing Association – Hampshire & Districts Residents Forum

Ground breaking service team of the year
Sponsored by Campbell Tickell

Moneyline Cymru Steering Group - Affordable Lending Initiative
Derwent & Solway HA – DRAMA (Debt Recovery and Money Advice)
Family Housing Association (Birmingham) – Community Investment Team
Glasgow Housing Association – Common Systems-Common Sense
Parkway Green Housing Trust – PG Turnaround
St Vincent’s Housing Association – Social Investment Team

Support/care team of the year


The Cyrenians – Adults facing Chronic Exclusion (ACE) Project
Northern Ireland Housing Executive – Belfast Area Roma Response Team
Orbit Care & Repair ( Coventry )
Riverside – Single Persons Accommodation Centre for the Ex-Services (SPACES)
Sandwell Homes - Tenancy Support Team
St Anne’s Community Services - Staff Team

Inspirational leader of the year
Sponsored by Insight


Neil Biddiscombe – Advantage SW
Finalist Stephen Bell – The Cyrenians
Carol Carter – Circle 33
Charlotte Graves – Hackney Homes
Garry King – Two Rivers Housing
Mac McKechnie – St Anne’s Community Services

Inspirational mentor of the year


Richard Husband – Worcester Community Housing
Twilight Bey – Catalyst Housing Group
Robert Butler – Genesis Housing Group
Christine Flanagan – South Liverpool Housing
Craig Fletcher – Helena Partnership
Helen Spencer – Great Places Housing

Inspirational colleague of the year Sponsored by EMA

Francis Kabia – Brent Housing Partnership
Gill Bettam – Wolverhampton Homes
Paul Dow – South Liverpool Housing
Julie Howard – Housing Solutions
Stephen Pettit – Home Group
Henry Quinney – Bournemouth Churches Housing Association (BCHA)

Career development star of the year
Sponsored by Asset Skills

Dawn Aston-Adams – Wolverhampton Homes
Irene Antwi-Buasiako – Southwark Council
Kate Bradbrook – Monmouthshire Housing
Mark Nalewaj – Ealing Homes
Edson Rabole – Citywest Homes
Dave Yoxall – Weaver Vale Housing Trust

Inspirational board or cabinet member of the year


Kate Willis – Glasgow Housing Association

Alice Burke – Hackney Homes
Ernon Campbell – Family Housing Association (Birmingham)
Alf Chandler – Hounslow Homes
Pat Fordham – Phoenix Community Housing
Stella Wheeler – RCT Homes

Inspirational tenant of the year
Sponsored by Kinetics

Cherie Tinenti – Charnwood Neighbourhood Housing


Kaylee Austin - Stonham
Rui Jorge Octavio – Barnet Homes
Terry Mullen – One Vision Housing
May Richards – Homes for Haringey
Sid Stairs – Chevin Housing Group

Back to top >>

The Hire StandardThe Hire StandardAsset SkillsCampbell TickellInsight HR Tribal United House Asset SkillsThe Hire Standard Insight EMA Campbell Tickell